The First Twenty

The First Twenty coverHere’s what readers have to say about The First Twenty:

From L. Lee Butler for School Library Journal:

What sets this title apart is its easy and unapologetic incorporation of gay and lesbian characters. The central romance is between two young women, the character whose death kicks off the narrative is gay, and his partner is an important parental figure in the narrative. Those looking for YA read-alikes to Veronica Roth’s “Divergent” books (HarperCollins) won’t often stumble across gay characters. Fans of Alex London’s Proxy (Philomel, 2013) will enjoy.

 

Booklist starred review

 

A starred review from Michael Cart for ALA Booklist:

 

…the relationship between Peyton and Nixie is well realized and heartfelt, and there is enough action to hold readers’ attentions to the end.

 

 

From ‘Nathan Burgoine, author of Light:

I loved this dystopia YA for it’s freshness – there was no informational core-dump of what went wrong, which makes so much more sense to me. If the world were to crumble – especially with diseases and dramatic climate issues – it seems to me that people would be focusing on survival, not on keeping proper records to let those who come after know what happened. Isolated groups like Peyton’s wouldn’t have the whole story, and survival trumps nostalgia. More, the relationship isn’t full of angst from the point of view of those around the two young women. This is a world that has clued in there are bigger worries. Two girls who fall in love? That’s wonderful – but let’s get the clean water flowing, shall we?

Read the rest of the review here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*